Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil

The speaker unreasonably concludes that as the new homes are increasing there would be more demand of heating oil.The evidence proffered by the speaker is that this weather condition would be continued for several more years due to which there would be more demand for heating oil.The evidence is insubstantial,unrepresentative and irrelevant to the issues involved.Therefore,unless a number of questions are answered satisfactorily,this cannot be considered as cogent argument.

Firstly,the speaker states that in weather in northeastern united states is typically cold but no statistical data of how the temperature varies when compared to other states.He mentions that previous year for twenty days there was a below-average temperature what exactly is the average temperature is not given in the argument.There is no relative information as said by the forecasters prediction that the weather would continue for several more years.There no clear information the term traditionally used oil which is used for heating refers to?

Secondly,There is a misconception that just by the local weather forecasters prediction that weather will continue with low degrees for several more years.If so have they done any such predictions before which happened later has to be mentioned to support the argument.He also mentions that new homes were built during past year but there is appropriate as how many were increased in number or what if they just reconstructed the houses due to temperature change there might be a chance that people wish to construct which can keep them warm.

Thirdly,the heating oil has to be mentioned clearly for what all purpose do they use it for.Is it for producing fire or for cooking purpose or heating water should be more informative to understand the argument.The speaker also fails to provide the data about of sales about the heating oil what if they can produce the oil themselves then there is no point in demand of heating oil of the consolidate industries.

In conclusion,this argument would have been more eloquent if the speaker had given more information on the major use of heating oil and temperature statistical data to explain the argument.In the absence of requisite information this argument can't be deemed to be persuasive.