“Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Based on these developments, we predict a large increase in the demand for heating oil. Therefore, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Winters are significantly harsh in northeastern area in united states. Also, people used fuel as traditional oil in order to cope with the cold. At last session of heating, the area experienced 90 days below-nominal temperature and based on that forecaster claimed that this pattern would continue in upcoming year. Also, due to the population more home has been build. Hence, it is profitable to invest in consolidate industries, that will sell the home heating oil. Stated in this way argument fails to mention several points based on which it could be evaluated. As a result, conclusion relies on an assumption that has a no strong evidence. Hence, the author's conclusion is unsubstantiated and unsupported.

First and foremost, the argument readily assumes that last season winter was about 90 days with below the minimum temperature. Therefore, same long winter happened at this season as well. This is merely argument without solid background. Based on only one season of procrastinating of winter would not ensure same situation would be happened in next time or continue in the future. It might be possible in that year weather pattern would be changed and due to that winter was long lasting. Again, argument does not specify particular years that same situation continue. It may be possible winter was long as for 2 years. Therefore, investing huge money in industry for selling heating oil would be worthless.

Second, the argument claims that, more house are developing in area; so, more heating oil require in order to provide heat in house. This is again very weak and unsupported argument. For example, all new home uses the electric heater then there will no use of oil. So, based on house frequency it would be difficult to predict profit from heating oil. Also, many people use solar energy in order to getting heat. Therefore, author argument is not compelling as required. Here, author should consider the other factors of technology rather than considering primary source of oil.

Finally, the argument directly presumes that everyone should buy heating oil from this new industry. However, it might be possible all citizen of that area become inveterate for buying oil at single place. It may be possible government provides subsidies for that oil. Therefore, they more biased towards specific industry. Also, we don't know how many industries already their in same area that selling same oil. Hence, without sufficient data of other industries we can't predict profit from heating oil industry.

In conclusion, the author's argument unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, the author must provide more concrete evidence. It could be considerably strengthened if author mentions all critical and relevant facts. But, without proper clearity the conclusion is unplausible. Hence, the author's conclusion has a no legs to stand.