The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that the two years ago, the town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased and new business open there and tax was risen by 30 percent So, the same thing applies in Hopewell town. Stated in this way the argument fails to mention several key factor bases on which it could be evaluated. The conclusion relies on the assumption for which, there is no clear evidence. However, the scrutiny of the evidence reveals the little credible support of the author's conclusion.

First of all, The author readily assumes that the in ocean view build the golf course and resort hotel so tourism was increased, So same thing apply in hopewell town it also works. This is merely assumption without much solid ground. For example, another factor works like in ocean view environment was cool so tourists comes, it is not same environment as hopewell then may be tourist not comes to there. The argument would have much more convincing if it was explicitly stated that there is same critical and environment factors in hopewell and oceanview, so it is good to apply same strategy in hopewell.

Second, the argument readily assumes that new businesses have opened in oceanview, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. This is again weak and unsupported claims as the argument does not demonstrate a correlation between oceanview tax increased than in hopewell tax revenue will increase. For example, it may be possible in ocean view the businessman comes they are more sophiscated and veteran than it's impact on tax revenue. It is not same as possible in hopewell it's depends on which type business comes. If the argument had stated that same business and business branch open in hopewell then taxes revenue increase then the argument a lot more convincing.

Third, the author cites that in oceanview tax revenue increased 30 percent, here the author mention the absolute value than it is much plausible because may be possible in oceanview taxes revenue low and increases 30 percent. But what happen if already hopewell tax revenue more than oceanview so, we can not said that revenue increases and there is another factors are also effect in tax revenue. However the scrutiny of the evidence reveals little credible support tfor author's conclusion with respect to several contributing factors and raises several skeptical questions as above mention. Without answer of this question reader left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more wishful rather than substantive.

In conclusion, The author's argument unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, The author must provide better concrete evidence. It could be a lot more convincing if all relevant facts are mention. So the argument is unsubstantiated and open for debate.