The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell."Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new bu

In a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell, a recommendation was made to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in the nearby town of Ocean View, in order to generate additional tax revenues. This is due to the fact that the new golf course and resort hotel at Ocean View have caused tourism to increase within the past two years. Additionally, new businesses have opened at Ocean View and tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. In order for this recommendation to be substantial, three assumptions must be thoroughly examined.

Firstly, the mayor, in making his recommendation, assumes that the town of Hopewell is relatively comparable to the town of Ocean View. However, this may not be the case. The name of the town itself suggests that the town of Ocean View is situated within close proximity to the ocean- where numerous tourists often opt to spend their vacations. Let’s say for instance that the town of Hopewell is located in some undesirable area such as a crime ridden community or a busy city. Then, adding a golf course and resort hotel will not attract tourists to those areas and the mayor’s recommendation would prove to be unviable.

Secondly, the mayor assumes in his memo that the reason for the increase in tourism and tax revenues at Ocean View is a result of the new golf course and resort hotel, and not something else that may have changed in that town. What if it is the new businesses that were added in the Ocean View that led to the increase? Perhaps new restaurants, casinos, spas, retail stores or movie theatres actually attracted increased tourism, and not the golf course and resort hotel. Then, adding a golf course and resort hotel to Hopewell as per the mayor’s recommendation may prove to be futile.

Finally, even if both towns are comparable and the increase in tourism and tax revenues in Ocean View did result from the new golf course and resort hotel as claimed, the mayor assumes that the increase that occurred during the past two years would occur at the time the addition is made to the town of Hopewell. Perhaps the economic situation would be different from two years ago as in the case of a recession. Then, the number of persons travelling on the whole will reduce. In this case even the town of Ocean view will see a reduction in tourism and tax revenue.

In conclusion, the mayor’s recommendation as it stands now is fundamentally flawed. The three above assumptions need to be thoroughly examined and only then a proper evaluation of the recommendation can be made.