The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The mayor of the Hopewell town recommends that, to increase the economic state of the city and to generate the increased revenue, Hopewell city must start the golf courses and establish resort hotels. To base his argument, the arguer has presented the case of nearby Ocean view city where the economic state of the city has ballooned by implementing the golf courses and resort hotels. At first glance, the argument made by the author seems reasonable but the detail dissection shows other way. To make the argument more cogent, the arguer need to think about the reasonable answers of the below pres...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.