The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.
"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort
hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have
opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to
improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course
and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."
Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to
decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how
the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.
The recommendation put forward by the mayor of the town Hopewell is likely to not have the predicted
results because there are various loopholes and understated assumptions that are not considered while
reaching to the stated claim that building a similar golf course and hotel will result in same success.
Firstly, the Ocean View was built two years before and it is not clearly justified that the conditions are
same as they were earlier - which is a rare case. There can be various changes in the economy and the
current situation of the society may not favor another resort like Ocean View.
Secondly, the relation between the increase in tourism and opening up of the new businesses is not
justified as there can be the case the profits are majorly earned from the hotel bookings and the
businesses are contributing less towards the income. Also, the credibility of the survey is not stated as
well as the survey can be biased towards stating the results. The questions asked in the survey can
mold the results as if there is only one resort in the city, then they will favor it hence stating the
increasing interest in the resort. Also, the people surveyed can be limited and that who are interested in
tourism. The local population might not be interested in such an idea as it will increase the population of
the city making it crowded and hence less peaceful. The survey can be done with the general population
and be taking a more general idea of questions.
Even if the above claims are taken into account, the location where the Ocean View is located attracts the
tourists which not might be the same case if other resorts are built to some other locations. Golf is a game
of rich people and hence, the economy near the new resort location might not be same as it is near
Ocean View making the golf course in new locations invaluable. A better consideration can be taken to
build the sports facilities that are congruent with the social needs and status.
Hence, the argument is not valid that similar revenues can be earned building similar golf course and
hotel to Ocean View in other locations.