Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.
Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim
and the reason on which that claim is based.
Law and legal system are there to ensure the integrity of the society and proper working of the
overall economy but it cannot be assured that it always represent the whole society. Hence, I
support the claim that there might be the possibility that what people think, cannot be governed
by law and legal systems.
Today's law and legal system have imposed restrictions that are not valid for everyone as some
might feel, for example, usage of the drugs as totally fine until they are used under controlled
ways rather than restricting it. As in some states of US, after the legalization of the drug usage,
the number of cases of drug abuse went down. This proves a general human tendency to be
curious about the things about they are restricted from and hence imposing fewer restrictions
will give better outcomes.
If law and legal systems put harsh restrictions over the society, people may go rogue as the
people follow their passions and if it is forbidden to do so, there will be distress. For example,
the voting rights given only to male in most of the middle east countries create a negative
environment treating women as weaker. Such an act or law restricting the basic needs or rights
of the people make the economy weak and hence they tend to break the laws and perform what
they feel is right following their heart and mind.
Finally, the legal system depends and works on the basis of what it sees and what evidence is
provided even though the reality is another way around. This makes people less reliable and
even make them less confident in belief in such a system for their needs and queries. Cases or
the new requests for the new rules or amendments in the current rules by the society takes
many years to be passed till when the significance of it goes down. Hence, people don't want to
wait longer for their needs and work without confirming it to the law and legal systems even if it
not valid.
Another negative impact of such a system is that it reduced the flexibility of the society to better
and improved thinking as when the government or the legal system is not supportive. If ideas by
young generation which are tested and can help the society to be improved cannot be
supported, then people will work according to what they feel is correct without following the law
and system.
The law and system need to be more flexible and listen to the people as it is there for them. The
system should be more open to the society and take inputs from them, working and trying to
understand the needs and benefits before any strict actions. Hence, if the above is not followed,
the people will always follow their hear and minds even though not correct.