Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reas

A debate between mysticism and legalism scholar on the topic of good legal system happened a millennium ago in the most advanced nations of Arabia, when theology was the leading science capable of “solve every problem.” The mysticism argued human’s hearts and minds were corruptible, only the God’s divine grace can penetrate all evil. On the contrary, legalism scholar believed in law and order, secular automaton systems which were to be built on the foundation of law, order and commandments. The history is cycle, according to Hegel, now I shall return to this debate, with a contemporary glace. In my opinion, laws can solve every problem if we can tackle natural’s law, divine’s law and human’s law.

Admittedly, I concede that our laws and legal system indeed cannot address all existing social problems, and making too many regulations would incur people's discontent or even resentment. For instance, governments cannot make laws that punish those who drop litter on the street. Because whether the litter is deliberately thrown away or carelessly dropped may not be able to find out, making such regulation practically unfeasible. In addition, some inappropriate deeds cannot be eliminated as well. Even the most admired company, Apple Inc., was criticized for unethical business practice. If governments are to make strict laws to restrict company's behavior, the industrial progress might be impeded. Therefore, laws have limited functions and are not able to solve all problems.

However, we cannot ignore the crucial functions of laws and legal system today. Laws against criminal conduct help safeguard our properties and lives. Laws regulating our business affairs make people keep their promises and ensure that companies play by the rules. Consider the benefit that antitrust law has brought us. It is aimed at promoting the spirit of competition and preventing monopoly. If there is no such law, probably the world will be now controlled by some giant companies that might be more powerful than a country. Also, the labor law help s ensure that employees are treated fairly and have their own rights. In addition, the 22nd amendment made by the American government sets a term limit for presidents, without which the political stability may be harmed.

Another reason why I essentially disagree with the speaker is that it overlooks the positive influence that laws can exert on people's mind, at least in an indirect way. Laws that ban industrial companies from polluting the environment help us realize the importance of our responsibility to protect our planet. And people may become more conscious about their behavior and not to litter on the streets. Also, regulations that forbid smoking in the public make people care more about others' interests, and help them foster a better moral. Hence, in some way, even indirect, laws do exert their positive impact on people's minds.

In sum, although some existing social problems are unable to be solved by laws and legal system, they are nevertheless playing a vital role in our society. Laws serve to combat crimes, protect individual rights, resolve conflicts and disputes, and ultimately stabilize our society. Moreover, in some way our laws and legal system do have influence on people's minds and hearts and can lead people toward a more civilized society.