Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree wit

As society progresses, people are subjected to changing views and opinions. Newer beliefs are formed and laws are made so that these beliefs are represented in society. For instance, the term marriage can be accepted as a union of two humans not necessarily for procreation which makes Gay marriage legal. The law then protects their fundamental rights and prevents discrimination against them.

I partially agree with the claim here that many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system. For example, India has one of the highest rates of sexual crimes against women. It includes eve-teasing, rapes and sexual assault. Despite decades of laws against sexual crimes, it still remains one of the most dangerous places for women. One of the reasons for this in the mentality of uneducated criminals who view women as objects for sexual pleasure only. Their views are dramatically shaped by the misogynist portrayal of girls in pop and almost free internet with thousands of videos of humiliating and degrading porn. Such a rise of mentality despite capital punishments has resulted in a widespread threat to young girls restricting their freedom to their homes. Therefore, it is necessary to change the mentality of these people by proper education from childhood otherwise the legal system is helpless before the society.

Strongs laws can decrease the crime rate but enforcing such laws does not solve the root problem. People sometimes have rather no choice than to take such steps. People addicted to drugs for instance, have little control over their actions. The craving to get high requires them to commit crimes, steal money. The problem worsens over time and it is impossible to get out without help. Capital punishments won't help change their behaviour and proper medical assistance is required in these scenarios. Proper care needs to be provided for addicts and rehabilitation and probation must be used to prevent them from using drugs.

However, laws act a strong deterrent for the prevention of crimes by people. They can stop violent tendencies by people as they would contemplate the disastrous consequences of their actions. To illustrate, India has strong laws against domestic violence which have decreased the reports of such crimes drastically for several years because the punishment of a single incident of violence is very severe. Although it does not guarantee more respect for wives it slowly results in a better attitude towards them.

In conclusion, many problems that arise from illiteracy and the changing cultures cannot be solved by using force. But they can ensure in the long run that a change in attitude is necessary and will happen in the future.