The following appeared in a recommendation from the president of Amburg's Chamber of Commerce."Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined wit

The author states that the vandalism of the city of Amburg needs to decrease to revitalize its declining neighbourhoods. He further recommends installing high-intensity lighting for reducing it which he says is more effective than bicycle police patrols. He cites an example of the city of Belleville to support his argument. However, the argument in favour of conclusion lacks crucial evidence and sounds vulnerable.

The first question that needs to be asked is whether high-intensity lighting can decrease the vandalism or not. It is based on the false presumption that the cities of Belleville and Amburg have identical criminal patterns. Maybe the criminals in Amburg are not as yielding to the law compared to Belleville. Maybe conditions of the crimes have changed significantly since the last October due to change in laws. Perhaps the decrease in crime in Belleville can be attributed to other factors such as stricter enforcement of rules and punishment which are relatively inferior in Amburg city. In such a scenario tighter enforcement of city rules and stronger punishment should be enforced to solve the problem.

In addition, the example itself is weaker in the context that it does not provide any statistics on the crime in cities of Belleville and Amburg. A substantial difference in crime rates could also be the cause of the difference. Furthermore, the president's argument that police patrol is worse than high-intensity lighting does not have substantial proof. As the measures have been taken recently it may take some time for the effect to take place. It would be inappropriate if the author is expecting a result in say 10 days. Furthermore, a police patrol can be ineffective due to other reasons such patrolling on a bicycle may fail to catch the criminals if they run away in cars, in such cases police should be provided with faster vehicles.

Finally, the author states without proof that the vandalism is the reason for declining neighbourhoods in the city. Maybe vandalism is a non-violent crime so does not affect the residents in the central business district of the city. It is possible that the decline of neighbourhoods is due to rising housing prices or poor living conditions due to noise and air pollution. If this is true the city should take other measures such as restricting horns and late-night parties in neighbourhoods, shut down coal industries and solve the housing crisis to increase the population.

In conclusion, the author does not provide substantial proof for the claims made and the conclusion does not directly follow the argument. Hence the recommendation is unlikely to yield any effect on the city without further analysis is done.