The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview."It is time for the city of Grandview to stop funding the Grandview Symphony Orchestra. It is true that the symphony struggled financially for many ye

One very important question that needs to be answered before implementing the recommendation that the city should eliminate funding for the Orchestra is that, what are the current financial statements of the Orchestra ?. There are enormous assumptions in the author's argument which can refute the claim that Symphony "can flourish without the money" provided by the City government.

First, it is necessary to ask what are the current percentage of Symphony's budget do the private contributions account for?. If the private contributions are a meagre percentage of the total operating expenses, say 5%, a 200% increase amounts for 10% of the total budget. Symphony won't be able to survive in such a scenario without the city's funding or from other sources. Another question that needs to be answered is whether the private contributions are due to a swarm of individual contributions or one giant contribution from a big celebrity ?. Such giant contributions can be exclusive and it is unlikely to obtain such contributions every year. Are the contributions received are from the people of Grandview City?

In similar reasoning, it needs to be answered, whether the increase in ticket prices is sufficient enough to account for the rest of the budget. How much does the ticket price need to be increased to cover the operating expenses of the Orchestra?. Are the people attending the "concerts-in-the-park" willing to pay the extra ticket price that will be charged?. More research needs to be done before it can be decided that the funding for the Orchestra needs to be stopped.

The author states that the symphony has been "struggling financially for many years", despite the funding from the city. The reason for the symphony's long financial struggle has to be researched before deciding to eliminate the funding based on a single year's performance. Maybe the increased popularity of the Symphony is due to Guest/Star appearances. This will raise some serious doubts about the increased popularity of the Orchestra in the upcoming years.