The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council."Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within fi

The argument in the memorandum states that the landfill of the West Egg Town should last considerably longer than predicted due to the changing behaviour of the residents of the town. The argument, however, does not provide credible reasoning for any of its statements and further examination is needed before reaching any conclusion.

Firstly, the author claims a report that was conducted two years ago which stated that the landfill is supposed to be filled within five years. It does not provide any information on how this prediction was made. What factors for such claim were considered? Is it possible that the changing attitude of residents was compensated in the calculations?

Another question that needs to be considered is that residents have almost doubled their recycling material. This statement does not provide how much percentage of the garbage is actually recycled?. Perhaps that only 1% of the garbage was recycled earlier than a further increase of 1% should not change the earlier predictions. We also do not know what percentage of the total garbage dumped comes from households. It is possible that the towns have a large portion of garbage dumped from industries located or newer industries have opened in the city. It is possible that the town recently had a large portion of immigrants due to new business opportunities. Subsequently, the landfill will fill faster than before.

Lastly, no evidence for the claim that residents will recycle more since the increase in the pickup of household charges. It is not clear if the charges are according to the amount of garbage dumped by each household. Usually, a flat meagre amount is charged irrespective of the amount of garbage. In such a scenario, no change in behaviour should be expected. While a large fraction of respondents may agree to do recycling in future, more details regarding the survey are required. Are the people who responded positively actually going to find time to recycle?. What fraction of increased recycling will occur in the future?

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author provides all the necessary evidence.