People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to addres

As more and more people are starting to agree that free will is a myth. Humans do not have free will but an illusion that free will exists encompasses a majority of the population.

I agree with the author's claim that our behaviour is largely determined by forces that we do not control. Numerous studies have found the majority of our life decisions depend on mainly two factors: one is a genetic influence and the other is our physical experiences. Our traits such as anxiety, courage, determination, intelligence are all controlled by our genes which have been confirmed by various identical twin studies. To illustrate, researchers conducted a study on identical twins separated at birth and lived in different conditions have a high correlation in IQ levels, emotional intelligence, weight and height and concluded a genetic influence on people's behaviour.

The other factor that is considered important for shaping our decisions is our experiences. People from different backgrounds of race, colour, creed, countries of origin and social status will undergo different experiences during their life. These experiences shape their choices and further success in life. We are mostly manipulated and biased in their decisions due to our experiences. The people we talk to, listen to and admire shape our opinions. For instance, a study published in Nature, states that students from economically privileged backgrounds are more likely to succeed in universities.

Another reason is that every person after a short period becomes ossified in his beliefs. A republican say would watch the news and read articles that reinforce his beliefs only and bash the opposing views. This produces an ideological echo chamber where the person is not willing to concede to facts and logical reasoning. Hence, his views have been distorted by serious propaganda by the media and his behaviour is not his chosen free will.

In conclusion, with the evidence provided above, I would say that forces other than our own largely determine our behaviour.