The following appeared in a memo from the marketing director of Top Dog Pet Stores."Five years ago, Fish Emporium started advertising in the magazine Exotic Pets Monthly. Their stores saw sales increase by 15 percent. The three Fis

The marketing director recommends placing advertisements in the Exotics Monthly Magazine to increase the sales of the stores owned by Top Dog Pet and make larger profits. For his claims, he draws a parallel with the past success in sales of the Fish Emporium Stores. This may seem convincing, however, a closer analysis reveals holes in assumptions taken.

The first piece of evidence the author provides regards to sales of the Fish Emporium stores. It is based on the false presumption that both the dog and fish business are similar in aspects of advertising.

Secondly, the statistics provided tell us that the data of an increase in sales at Fish Emporium is five years old. A lot of change can happen in such a long period of time. Perhaps the Exotic Magazine is not as popular today as it was five years ago and the declining readership may not be interested in buying dogs or any pets. Also, a 15 percent increase in sales of Fish Emporium does not have statistical reliability. For instance, if the store had only 10 visitors per month it has gained nearly 18 extra visitors in the whole year. It is also nowhere mentioned whether the stores of fish were running in profit or not. Further, it is possible that other additional measures were taken by Fish emporium coupled with advertising and increased sales cannot be attributed to advertising alone.

Finally, the author draws the conclusion their stores would be able to reverse the recent trend of declining sales and make a profit again. This is an unwarranted statement as no proof is provided on the current budget of the Pet Stores. For the statement to be viable, cost of advertising should be covered in higher sales by the stores. But the reason for current declining trends could also be due to other factors such as poor quality of service, unhealthy and prosaic pets and bad reputation. If this is true, advertising won't help the store to increase its profits and measures should be taken to account for the complaints of customers, more exotic dogs must be bought.