The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager."One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow t

The recommendation by the owner of Sunnyside Towers that the restricted water flow will increase their profits is ill-founded and rife with assumptions.

The first question that needs to be answered is that the showerheads modified on the first five floors are actually a large source of water consumption or not. Perhaps restricting the original flow does change water consumption because people now use water for a longer duration. As of right now, there is no evidence that any change in water consumption has happened over the past month due to restricted water flow.

Secondly, it needs to be considered that since these changes seem to happen without the consent of the residents, they may be illegal. Also, the manager has to act on the complaints of low water pressure soon. If residents find out about the deceit they may sue the owner which may cause larger losses in the future.

Thirdly, it has mentioned that the profits of the company will increase considerably but there is no evidence that the cost of water is a dominant portion of the budget. Usually, a small portion of the budget goes in spending towards the water and charge levied is in a range of water consumption. If the payments of the water consumption are meagre no "considerable profit" can be supposed to happen.

Lastly, the author recommends restricting water flow on all the floors of the Sunny Tower but it is possible that the pattern of consumption of water is different for different households. Hence, restricting the flow will not be a viable option. In conclusion, all the above questions need to be considered and answered in positive for the recommendation to have the likely result.