The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum

The author states that the number of accidents in Balmer Islands can be significantly reduced by capping the maximum number of moped and bike rentals/day during peak summer months. Stated in this way the argument fails to provide substantial proof for its validity.

Firstly, it is not clear why such limitations are required in the first place. The argument does not explicitly state that summertime accidents are higher than other times of the year. Even if the number of accidents increase the % of accidents per person may still be the same. Furthermore, no change in policies is required to decrease a very low number of accidents. More data is required to analyse the situation here.

Secondly, it is not clear if a higher number of accidents observed have a causal relationship with the higher number of mopeds and bikes hired by people. Perhaps the increase in accidents can be attributed to other factors such as drinking and driving, car collisions, lack of traffic lights, uneven roads etc. Or maybe the accidents are not road accidents at all, they can be due to drowning, unsafe entertainment parks etc. Assuming a causal relationship exists, the author states that the number of hired moped and bikes should be limited to 30 per day. No evidence is provided for how this number was decided? What is the hired mopeds per day in peak summer time on the Balmer Islands?. If already this number is less than 30 per day we should not expect any change in the accident rates. Moreover, it needs to be determined what would be the appropriate value of mopeds running on islands roads?

The author provides an example of the island Torseau which had a 50% reduction in moped accidents last year. Before drawing any conclusions from this example it is not clear how many accidents were happening on the island per day. Since islands usually have a small population if the decrease is from 4 accidents per year to 2 accidents it can be due to a chance. Were any other measures taken other than limiting the number of hired mopeds to reduce the accident rate on the island?

In conclusion, all the assumptions must be carefully considered for the required recommendation to have the desired effect. Limiting the number of vehicles may decrease mobility of the tourists and act as a deterrent for visiting the island. Other alternate measures must also be considered before taking any such steps.