The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors."Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat produc

The author's recommendation that the stockholders of Old Dairy Industries should sell their shares and to other investors not to purchase the stock is rife with assumptions. Careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that there is unwarranted and ill-defined evidence for the argument to hold.

The first question that needs to be answered here is the details of the survey conducted. It is not mentioned the number of people who participated in this survey. As per the claim of the survey 80% of respondents "indicate a desire" to reduce intake of fats and cholesterol. However, it does not mention the number of people participating in the survey. A survey of 10 people say, out of which 8 are already obese people can be highly skewed. Also, it must be evaluated the questions asked to the people participating in the survey. Are the people actually aware of the fat and cholesterol quantities in the products they use for daily consumption?

Also, the survey also does not reveal the fact that people who "indicate such desires" are actually consumers of the products by Old Dairy Industries. It is possible that they may be using products of a major competitor or not using any fat-based products at all. Even if a lot of people indicate such desires, it is unlikely that a lot of people would change their eating habits rapidly. For instance, a lot of people around new year's "indicate a desire" to go to a gym and lose weight but such resolutions are ephemeral. So, the time when the survey was conducted and the specific people involved has to be taken into account.

Another question that needs to be evaluated is based on the assumption that company profits will decrease. In the argument, there is no mention of the fact about the consumption of Old Dairy Industries products and their percentage of profits. It is possible that the fat-based products constitute only a tiny fraction of the company's revenue. It also does not point out how much of these products are bought for direct consumption and how much is used in other food companies as intermediate products. Therefore, it cannot be stated that the profits of the company will "diminish greatly".

Another possibility is the low-fat products available in food stores marketed by Old Dairy Industries. In such a scenario, it is possible that customers stop using high-fat products and move to low-fat products of the company without any revenue loss.

Based on the little evidence provided by the author's argument this more seems of ploy by a major competitor to degrade Old Dairy Industries value. Finally, to assess the argument it would be necessary to know more information about the current profits and market share of Old Dairy Industries products and how many of its current customers will stop using those products. Do the company already have newer low-fat products?. Does the company plan to launch other products in the future ?. The author's conclusion does not hold after a more careful analysis of the assumptions.