The following is a memorandum from the business

manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has

devoted increased time to national news and less time

to weather and local news. During this time period,

most of the complaints received from viewers were

concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and

local news. In addition, local businesses that used to

advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore,

in order to attract more viewers to the program and to

avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should

restore the time devoted to weather and local news to

its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific

evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain

how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

The restoration of the time devoted to the wheather and local news to its for mer level might not be very helful as there are some basic flaws in the reasoning given by the manager of the television station.

It is not very clear that the most of the complaints that have been recieved are from a general population prespective who view the television programs. It might be the possibility that the complaints that are submitted are from a very narrow viewers who are just concerened about the wheather or might from the local advertisers who want to promote their advertisement. But it ignores a large number of population who watches the news cahnnels to get the news of around the world and rather than getting information about the local advertisers. So, the submission of the compalints can be done with the detailed information of the person who is submitting the complaint to detect and targetted complaint behaviour in which a number of complaints done from the some group of people tries to promote the general idea of the popuplation which is not true.

It cannot the made sure that the late-night news program is the only reason for the decrease in the local news advertisers as there can possibility that the advertisers might be finding other news stations at more economical rates where they can promote their news with the same or better base of viewers. Different modes of news spread can also affect the number of local advertisers promoting their news for the stations as they might find news blogging more productive, easy and economical way to promote their news. So, the television station can look into the other prespectives that might be affecting this decline in the viewership and the advertisers as many people generally prefer to see the wheather conditions before leaving out from the home and if the wheather reports are given in the morning as well as evening, it will be fruitful for the viewers to check the news as well as the wheather simultaneously which can imporve the user base.

There can also be the shift in the viewer preferences from the last past year as due to advancement of the internet and facilities, people are more interested to read the news on the go rather than watching the TV and which also affects their behaviour for the whole day. People are updated through the news and wheather reports thoughout the day with their personal mobile assitants such as Google Now or Apple Siri. So, having some new innovations and investment in the domain of internet which attract more population would be beneficial like the mobile apps for personal news stand and preferences with relugar updates about the TV shows.

Hence, the restoration to the old level of wheather reports and local news advertisements might not be very benefical.