The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell."Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new bu

The mayor of Hopewell suggested to build a golf course and resort hotel in order to improve the town’s economy and claimed it to be the best way. He argued that it would increase tourism, attract new businesses and, as a result, generate additional tax revenues - just like it happened in the nearby town of Ocean View. However, his or her argument is based on a series of assumptions that make it unconvincing unless being proved.

The mayor points out that Ocean View is a nearby town and bases his argument on the assumption that the produced result of building new facilities will be the same in his town. However, it is entirely possible that building a golf course and resort hotel will not be as profitable in Hopewell. Tourists will probably prefer to an already familiar place which is in Ocean View. What is more, as economics teaches us - if there is a growing supply, the prices become less. Therefore, even if Hopewell turns out to be somewhat popular with the public it will not necessarily produce as much profit as expected. A lot of money can be lost in the advertisement and other marketing campaigns in order to win new customers and turn them into loyal clients. Hence, the town economists should analyze the possible revenues, the number of potential customers and other variables that may influence the success of the project.

Even if the above-mentioned assumption is valid, we are not provided with the locations of the golf course and resort hotel in the towns. It lets the author assume that the locations will be equally favorable for opening new businesses. For that matter, perhaps the facilities in Ocean View were built in the city center or in another highly appealing place - the places that were originally highly visited and popular among locals and tourists. It can equally be the case that Hopewell is short of available land and the facilities will be built on the outskirts of the town, impeding the growth of the business there and making it difficult to reach for tourists. As a result, such investments might never become profitable.

What is more, the author’s argument relies on the two assumptions regarding the tax rates: (1) that the Ocean View’s tax rate has not changed in 2 years; (2) that they are the same in both towns. Those assumptions are obviously not necessarily true. Perhaps, the tax rate in Ocean View was increased 2 years ago and, therefore, it is accountable for the growth of tax revenues and not the new facilities. Moreover, Ocean View’s taxes can possibly be twice more than the ones of Hopewell. Accordingly, the improvement of Hopewell’s budget cannot be expected unless we are provided with more details regarding towns’ tax rates and their statistics.

In sum, the proposal to build a golf course and resort hotel may sound persuasive and appealing at first, but after a scrutiny of the logic behind it becomes less convincing. In order to evaluate the soundness and economic sensibility of this idea more information is required about the above-named points.