"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure p

This memo concludes that discontinuing the use of the current manufacturing process will help to increase profits of Dura-Sock, Inc. To justify the conclusion, the vice president of marketing mentions the results of the survey which proved to be in favor of the change. Moreover, he also notes that despite the advertised durability of two years, the customers use their socks solely for 3 months, so the use of the Endure manufacturing process turns out to be ineffective. I find this argument unconvincing in several respects.

Firstly, this conclusion is based on the specious assumption that all customers of Dura-Sock have analogous preferences to the buyers from northeastern United States cities. However, it can be the case that the rest of the customers have completely opposite views of the ones revealed by the survey. Moreover, the notion of ‘the largest market’ should be explained as well. Is it the largest because of the sales amount or the number of citizens? For that matter, if it turns out to be the latter, the results of the survey cannot be considered convincing. It would be natural that more people would account for more profits, and the outcome of any studies would be skewed towards this group of people. Therefore, in order to bolster the argument, the author should elaborate on the survey details proving that the sample is indeed representative.

Secondly, even assuming that the change in the manufacturing process will be of no cost, we cannot expect profits to increase. Firstly, changing the manufacturing process will take time which can impede the production; secondly, the machines used in the Endure process will have to be sold, otherwise, the company will be losing a considerable amount of money as the machines get older and less valuable. Hence, the profits cannot be anticipated as a result of the manufacturing process with a high degree of confidence.

Last but not least, the vice president of marketing states in the memo that the company has always advertised the use of the Endure process. It is well-known that advertisement plays a significant role in people’s perception of a product. For that matter, it is entirely possible that the customers are drawn towards the Dura-Sock’s socks unconsciously, simply basing on what they have heard from the advertisements on the TV or radio. Therefore, removing something that has been advertised for so long as a strong advantage can affect brand perception in an unfavorable way. As a consequence, disappointed customers may stop buying the products of the company, making Dura-Sock sales plummet. Thus, to make the argument more persuasive, the author of the memo should prove that the buying behavior of the customers will not change after discontinuing the use of the Endure manufacturing process.

In conclusion, the argument logically flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen it the vice president of marketing should provide more information regarding the survey: how the data was gathered, is the sample was representative, etc. Additionally, he or she has to prove that the buying behaviour of the customers after the change will stay the same and the fact that switching the manufacturing process will be free of charge and quick, so that the sales can grow as predicted.