The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company."Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different constructio

In the memo, a vice president recommends using Zeta construction company in lieu of Alpha. He supports his recommendation with a couple of points: (1) the maintenance expenses were 50% lower than of the Alpha’s building last year; (2) energy consumption has been lower at the Zeta’s building as well. The author also urges us not to consider the higher costs of Zeta’s services, given the above-mentioned advantages. However, unless certain questions are answered, this recommendation cannot be evaluated and, therefore, considered cogent.

First of all, there is no information provided about the time those two buildings have been in use. What is more, we only know that the maintenance costs of Alpha’s building were higher last year, whereas it can be inferred from the memo that several years have passed since the construction finished (‘… every year since its construction’). Therefore, the last year’s difference in the maintanance cost can be an aberration due to an emergency or reconstruction. In order to evaluate the recommendation correctly the following questions must be answered - how long have the buildings been in use and what were the maintenance costs of the two buildings in previous years?

The next question that must be answered is what is ‘where are those buildings are located? ‘. This is a very important factor that can influence the expenditure level. Consider energy and water cost, the average salary of workers, price level - all of this undoubtedly affect what the company has to pay for its regional headquarters operation. The Zeta building could be located in the area with a longer daylight time, therefore, they did have to use as much energy as at the Alpha’s. Moreover, perhaps, the number of employees working at Zeta’s is lower, as a. result, the energy consumption is lower as well. What is more, overall maintenance costs could be influenced by the location as well. The higher level of life in the region of the Alpha’s building would entail higher salaries for the workers. Hence, we need to know the locations and their peculiarities before making any conclusions.

In the final analysis, the recommendation of a vice president is unconvincing as it stands as it lacks crucial information. Unless we have access to the answers to the above-mentioned questions which support the recommendation, it cannot be considered cogent.