32. The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter th

The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing recommends that the work shifts should be shortened by one hour to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents. To support his argument he draws our attention to the Panoply Industries plant, where are the number of accidents is much lower supposedly due to the shorter shifts. However, this recommendation relies on a series of assumptions that render it unconvincing as it stands.

First of all, the argument is based on the assumption that the number of on-the-job accidents in the past year is representative and reflects the existing trend. Yet, the statistical data is lacking to support such a recommendation. It is entirely possible that the previous year was an aberration and all the years before Panoply was, in fact, a “leader” of on-the-job accidents. If this is the case, the recommended shortening of the work shifts would not even be necessary.

Secondly, the author of the memo does not elaborate on the safety instructions or policies of Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industries. As a result, his suggestion is based on a faulty assumption that those policies are the same. For that matter, managers at Panolpy might simply better instruct their workers on safety and focus more on the related issues. Perhaps, they organize seminars dedicated to safety at a workplace or place banners and posters showing how to use the equipment in a safe and correct way.

Thirdly, the argument rests on the assumption that the manufacturing processes and goods produced are identical in both plants since he does not provide any information regarding that. It can be the case that their products and therefore manyfactoring processes are so different that they are in fact impossible to compare. Perhaps, Quiot Manufacturing production process encompasses more risky and dangerous tasks or the environment itself. For instance, it could be related to the chemical industry. However, since we do not have any specific information about it, no trust-worthy comparison can be made.

Finally, the memo does not contain any details about the equipment used in the manufacturing process, which means that the author assumes that it either does not play an important role in supporting his argument or it is the same in both plants. Obviously, such an assumption is essentially flawed. The quality and age of the machines have a crucial impact on the safety of the workplace. If the quality is not up to the standards, the workers are left in a very hazardous working environment, where are job accidents are not surprising at all.

In conclusion, the argument is logically flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen it the vice president of Quiot Manufacturing should provide more information regarding the manufacturing processes and the equipment used at the two plants and prove that they are similar or have the same probability of causing a worker’s injury. Moreover, he must analyze the data of a longer time period and not just compare the results of one past year. Last but not least, more information about the safety instructions of both plants should be provided in order to verify the author’s assumption about their similarity.