Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the p

I mostly disagree with the statement, as there are some points that the author fails to acknowledge and, therefore, makes it impossible for me to agree with him or her fully.

First of all, I must agree that setting realistic goals will make them easier to follow and reach. As a consequence, the obtained result will motivate young people each time to move further and set other goals, perhaps, each time a bit more challenging. However, at the time, setting only “safe” goals which are easily reachable may affect youth’s striving for something extraordinary, for a greater version of themselves. They will be blissfully ignorant of the opportunities which are out of their comfort zone, their abilities which they have not discovered yet. To prevent this, people should be encouraged to set such goals that are potentially reachable, but also push the limits of one’s mental and physical abilities.

Secondly, to set long-term goals in our modern world may not be the best approach, as everything around us changes with the speed of light. Consider a telling example, a family that consists of generations of respected and very experienced lawyers will most likely encourage their child to pursue the same career. This boy or girl will set a goal to study hard to be accepted to the best law school, to be the best student there so that then he or she will be able to receive the desired job. But what if while chasing this goal, this person fails to notice the changes in the labor market and the country’s economy in general, where now the highest paying jobs are in completely another field, and as a result, there is an excess of unemployed lawyers. In other words, it is more reasonable and sensible to divide a big long-term goal into smaller “steps”; doing so will allow people to stay on their path to pursuing their goal, but also it will make them more flexible. If this boy or girl knew about it, they might first want to reach their goal of “being a deligent pupil” and once it is reached set a new one which corresponds with their ambitions and the current situation.

On the other hand, I agree with the author that raising children like immediate fame and recognition seekers will greatly complicate their lives and impede any attempts of trying is the first step was not successful. For example, in case of a failure which, in fact, is very likely immediate fame-seekers may lose their desire to keep going, developing and trying harder. They usually expect everything to happen fast and easily and, therefore, they are unable to invest their time and efforts in long-term undertakings. As a result, such a short-term oriented mindset will not be beneficial to young people, who are just starting their lives which are generally full of challenging situations and experiences. Unless they are prepared to face them, be realistic and patient, such young people risk falling behind our highly competitive society.

In the final analysis, it is worth noting that although young people should be encouraged to pursue realistic goals, they should be also galvanized to push their limits and leave their comfort zone in order to discover their true abilities hidden inside them. Moreover, long-term goals in our fast-changing environment might turn out to be something hazardous, instead of following small steps and staying aware of the events around you will be more beneficial.