Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

Is the general welfare of all citizens an important factor in measuring the well-being of a society? In my opinion, it is, as a society is an aggregation of its citizens, therefore, if we have to determine if a society is a thriving one, we should look at its representatives - regular people.

First of all, a society or a country cannot be considered successful unless all its individual citizens reach the claimed success. A telling example is Russia - it is still considered to be a developing country by the majority of classifications despite its advances in space, heavy and light industries, and other fields. The thing is, while such an enormous gap between rich and poor people exists, while there is still a great number of illiterate children and adults, the country overall cannot be proclaimed as a developed or a thriving one. Only after reaching a certain level of general welfare for all people a society as a whole can burgeon.

Secondly, how a society can thrive when some of its citizens are living below accepted standards or feeling unsafe and miserable in their surroundings? Those people will not be able to contribute anything to the greater good unless their needs are not satisfied. Moreover, if society puts its own overall success before anything else, who in the end will be the beneficiary? A couple of people in power who make those decisions? Again, it must be pointed out, that society is a combination of all people inside it. As a consequence, if the general welfare is not at the desired level, the society cannot thrive.

Admittedly, there are deviants in all societies. Those are people who do not seek to improve their standards of living, stay unemployed for long periods of time and who can be involved in different kinds of crimes. Society can try extremely hard to help them out, to show them the benefits of a stable, sensible life, but they simply do not seem to be interested. In such cases, when evaluating society’s success those self-made outcasts should be neglected. Notwithstanding, this can only be done when the fraction of such “rebels” is relatively low, otherwise, it will become a rule rather than an exception from this rule and the society that produced those deviants should be a subject to a deeper analysis.

To sum up, as a society is a set of its individual citizens, then the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people. Indeed, if we want to measure a well-being of a certain family, we will look at this family’s members’ health, educational and work history, etc.; in other words, we will be interested in these particular people and not in the members’ of other family or some other unrelated factors which are hardly relevant to the well-being evaluation process.