Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Even though the proposed way o understand the character of a society is viable, it definitely cannot be pronounced as the best one. As a result, I mostly disagree with the speaker and the reasons why will be explored in this essay.

Undoubtedly, role models and heroes are a reflection of the values and ideals of a society. To be proclaimed a hero, a person must do something that is exalted by its counterparts. To be considered a role model, a person must behave in such a way that will be accepted and supported by the majority. Therefore, those individuals are in fact the representation of the people who have chosen them, of the qualities that they respect. Nevertheless, one should note that those chosen people will represent only the best side of society without showing its flaws. In other words, even though we can understand some part of the character of a society through them, we will only perceive the best, most polished part of it, without getting access to the whole picture.

Moreover, this statement is a rough generalization. I do not think we can put an equality sign between the character of society as a whole and the character of its heroes. For instance, during the Second World War, the were a lot of fearless and glorious people who were fighting against the Nazis and would be later claimed as heroes. However, at the same time within the societies that produced such great hearts, there were also traitors. Therefore, this statement can be true only to a certain extent, as the character of the society or the individuals representing it can not be simplified or generalized to a few outstanding people.

Another reason why I do not agree with the speaker is that the role models are not always chosen by society itself, instead, they can be popularized by the government. Doing so, allows the people in power to control attitudes of the citizens, plant certain ideas in their mind and manipulate them in other ways. What is more, it works the same way for some of the proclaimed heroes. A telling example here would be Russia granting ordens and medals to the soldiers who fought in Syria or even died in the battles there. Of course, those people deserve praise for their braveness, stamina, patriotism, but one question occurs: what is the government trying to promote with it? The fact that in order to be heroes we should be fighting and killing other people? Why does not the government encourage consistent efforts of its citizens - devoted doctors, wise teachers, and brave firefighters? Therefore, sometimes the role models and heroes do not represent the character of the society as a whole, and sometimes they can even be used to skew the views and ideals in society.

In the final analysis, understanding the character of a society through its role models and heroes can be one of the ways, but not the best one. While evaluating the character of it as a whole, other factors should be concerned as well, such as its art in its numerous forms, history and so on.