"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

In the memorandum, the business manager of a television station who is concerned with viewers' complaints as well as a decreasing number of advertising contracts with local businesses due to its cancellation recommends to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. According to him, the change of focus of their late-night news programs was the base for the emmergence of his concerns. The author's argument may seem cogent at first. Hovewer, as the scrutiny of it has revealed, certain evidence is required to make it tenable.

First of all, it is crucial to know what was the exact number of the recieved complaints and the number of viewers. It is entirely possible that that number was equal to as low as 10 and while the most of the complaints (let's say 8) were indeed connected with the new level of the weather and local news coverage. Undoubtedly, no recommendations can be based on such a small number of compalints. Therefore, the lack of the exact numbers in the argument weakens it significantly. Only if the author manages to support his words with statistics his recommendation can be considered valid.

Secondly, the decrease of advertising contracts may be not due to the changes in the content of the late-night news program, but rather to the buisnesses' funds available for adverisement spendings. Perhaps, the economic situation in the city or entire country has been getting worse over the past year, therefore, in order to keep operating the local businesses had to re-evaluate their expenses. Undoubtedly, the advertisement is not such a crucial factor as workforce or materials supply for manufactoring, and it can be safely removed for the business expenses list for some time without hurting the sales too much. Moreover, the program the author discusses is the late-night show. The local businesses might have realized after conducting a customer research that they either do not watch the TV at night or at all, which makes advertizing through this news program useless. Therefore, the financial statistics of the local businesses as well as the preferences of their customers are required in order to evaluate the argument correctly.

In the final analysis, the business manager's recommendation is unconvincing as it stands since there is a series of supporting evidence lacking. To bolster his argument, the author must provide (1) the exact numbers of complains and the television station viewers that would support his claim; (2) the financial statistics of the local businesses that would indicate no siginificant changes over the past year; (3) the local businesses customers' exposure to the TV in general, and the ratio of the the late-night news program viewers to the whole number of custimers (both must be high in order to bolster the argument).