The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals."In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did t

The director of a large group of hospitals concluded in a memo that in order to prevent serious patient infections they should supply a new concentrated solution of UltraClean at all hand-washing stations. To support his argument, he pointed out that UltraClean is more effective at bacteria population reduction. Moreover, his conclusion relies on a test made at the hospital in Workby that proved the advantages of the above-mentioned soap. However, the scrutiny of this argument reveals that it is based upon a series of assumptions. Unless those assumptions are tested and proved valid, the argument is unpersuasive as it is.

First of all, the argument relies on a faulty assumption that the hospital in Workby started having fewer cases of patient infection with the usage of Ultra clean soap. However, this assumption is quite flimsy. In fact, it can be the case that it has always been this way and simply has never been analyzed and, therefore, the results were never recorded. Moreover, there are other factors involved which could affect the obtained results of the test. Firstly, the safety policy at the above-mentioned hospital might be much stricter or there can be more stickers and posters reminding patients and doctors to wash their hands. Secondly, patient infections can be a result of food used, the cleanness of the medical equipment and the place itself. Therefore, more information about the Workby hospital is required in order to evaluate the argument.

Secondly, the director concludes that suppling UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout their hospital system will help to prevent serious infections. Nevertheless, we are not given any information about the qualities of the above-mentioned soap - there are no details about what it is made of, what bacteria it is most effective with, what infection it is likely to prevent and so on. What is more, it is entirely possible that although UltraClean is highly effective when it comes to the bacteria population reduction, it is also toxic or dangerous for people’s skin or health overall. Perhaps, the high concentration of a certain element in the solution can prove to be damaging in the long run. Since there is no study or research provided about the pros and cons of the soap, no recommendation cannot be made unless we know all possible consequences of its usage.

In the final analysis, the argument of the director is unconvincing as it stands, since it is based on a series of faulty assumptions. Hence, it is impossible to evaluate the argument correctly without the clarification of the above-named facts.