The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company."When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited

In the memo of XYZ company, the suggested switch to Walsh Personnel Firm was criticized by its author. He argues that despite the lower service costs, the Walsh Firm is inferior to the firm XYZ is currently working with. The author points out several facts in the support of his argument: (1) eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only 50 percent of the workers found a job within one year; (2) Walsh has smaller staff amount and fewer branch offices; (3) on average, Delany’s clients land a job 3 months faster. At first, such reasoning seems cogent, but once considered with scrutiny it becomes highly untenable since some crucial information is lacking.

First of all, the author must provide us with the statistical data of the economic state of the country and the specific city that XYZ operates in. Undoubtedly, such a factor usually directly influences the situation in the job market. It is entirely possible that this factor was accountable for the unsuccessful results of Delany eight years ago. If it turns out that it was an aberration due to the excess of supply at the labor market or a general economic recession, then the argument would be significantly weakened since the results of Delany’s work were affected by the outside force, an external factor, they had no control of.

Secondly, the time required for finding a job also correlates with a profile of a potential employee as well as with the type of the desired job. For that matter, perhaps those two firms are specializing in different fields or help to the people of different ‘career ladder stages’. Consider, finding a job for a full stack developer and a person specializing in the particular stage of a certain product. The first one is in very high demand nowadays whereas the latter may have a hard time looking for a job since his skills are too specific. Therefore, the productivity and effectiveness of Delany and Walsh employees cannot be considered unless there is information provided regarding the types of jobs they help to lend and the profiles of both firms’ clients.

Finally, we cannot evaluate the productivity of employees of both firms as well as their successfulness and competence solely based on the number of employees and branch offices. In fact, one worker at Walsh Personnel Firm could help to find a job for one person a day, while at Delany it would take a week for one employee. The better results of Delany could be reached only due to the bigger amount of employees, not to the higher level of efficiency. Therefore, it is important to know the exact statistics, exact numbers of the work results of each worker of both firms.

In the final analysis, the argument is unconvincing as it stands as it lacks crucial information. Unless the above-mentioned pieces of evidence that support the argument are provided, it cannot be considered cogent.