The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station."WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The p

In the memorandum, the manager of WWAC radio station suggests adopting an increasingly popular news-and-talk format in order to mitigate the current decline in the number of listeners which happened supposedly due to the antipathy to the rock-music. The author supports his argument with a fact that there has been population growth in the listening area, mainly represented by the retired people who have limited interest in music. Even though this argument seems plausible at first, after being evaluated with scrutiny it becomes untenable since it lacks some crucial information.

First of all, we need to know is the number of listeners declining only at WWAC radio station or is it the city(country)-wide trend. The thing is today there is copious content, especially similar to the one transmitted by radio, accessible in other sources - music subscription-based platforms, podcasts, other streaming services and so on. What makes them stand out is the fact that we have control over them, stop or skip whenever we want, repeat as many times as needed whereas radio cannot offer any of it. Therefore, the decline might be the result of the changing preferences of those who used to be frequent radio listeners. If it turns out to be the case, then no change in the kind of music or broadcasted shows will improve the situation for WWAC unlike the conclusion made by the author. Therefore, in order to bolster his argument, the author must provide us with the statistics proving that the listeners decline has been recorded only at the above-mentioned station.

Secondly, more information is required regarding recently closed music stores. How might the economic situation in the area have influenced the store owners’ decision to stop operating? What is the total number of local stores selling recorded music now and exactly how many were closed? It is entirely possible that there was a high concentration of those stores in the area and due to fierce competition some of them had to stop working. Therefore, despite the closure of several stores that the number of stores still operation might be quite big. What is more, such a situation could be the result of the unfavorable economic conditions - increasing tax rates, decreasing the income of the customers, etc. In other words, it was the result of the external factor intervention, rather changing the preferences of their customers. If two above-named points prove to be true, then the argument cannot be considered valid since it is based on the unwarranted assumption.

In the final analysis, in order to evaluate the argument of the WWAC radio station manager wisely, more information is required. Unless questions, which are presented in this essay, are answered in a way that would prove his position, the author’s suggestion should be taken with a grain of salt.