Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall stu

The author of the passages claims that Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors in order to enable them to secure better jobs. His main concern is that the rise in the student grade average after the implementation of this procedure affected in a negative way the employers’ attitude towards the students from this university. However, his conclusion lacks certain evidence which renders it untenable.

First of all, it is vital to know the actual knowledge level of the students of Omega University and see the yearly statistics on this topic. Of course, if no standardized tests were applied thought those 15 years it will be impossible to gather the required data, but what is possible is to analyze the applicants’ profiles and the results of the exams they are supposed to take before applying to universities. Usually, those tests are identical for all schools and cities, therefore, they provide a sound base for judgment. Of course, some pupils’ results could be skewed because of their 'before exam' anxiety or sickness on the test day, but usually, such tests provide a good big picture. It is entirely possible that Omega University during those 15 years was trying to improve its rating not only by implementing new ways of teaching and general educational process organization (as described in the passage) but also by accepting students with higher GPA and test results. Therefore, having some information regarding this issue would greatly help to evaluate the argument better.

Another evidence required is the general profiles of both universities, such as a list of majors available and the number of students, etc. For that matter, perhaps those universities provide absolutely different education, consider a classical university and a polytechnic one. Undoubtedly, the students will have different knowledge, skills and will not normally apply for the same positions at the company. Therefore, it is entirely possible that Omega University students were unsuccessful at finding a job due to an excess of the specialists of their profile at the labor market. Another thing to consider is the number of students, perhaps the Alpha University is significantly smaller and 98 percent of successful employment means that 98 of their overall 100 students obtained a job, while it could be 98 and 10,000 respectively at Omega. Without knowing such crucial information, we must not draw any conclusions.

Finally, it is important to know what jobs the students of both universities managed to land. Perhaps, students of Alpha University were willing to agree for a position at a lower level or with much lower pay, while Omega students’ requirements were higher. The employers might prefer to hire the first ones due to its economic convenience and concealed their reasoning with the supposedly inflated grades of the second. Therefore, the author of this passage must provide the salary and working environment expectations of students of both universities as well as their desired positions.

In the final analysis, the argument is unconvincing as it stands as it lacks crucial information. Unless the above-mentioned pieces of evidence that support the conclusion are provided, it cannot be considered cogent.