Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely alig

My point of view more closely aligns with the belief that formal education tends to restrain our minds. However, the education we receive highly depends on those who are delivering the knowledge to us, in other words, it is hugely contingent upon the professors, deans, educational ministers - anyone who has an impact on the system of education. Therefore, one may agree with the first or the second statement solely basing on his/ her personal experience or the thoughts of other people. My school and university years made me agree with the second one.

First of all, the majority of the tests and assignments are based on the black and white concept, meaning that there are only two possible outcomes: right or wrong and nothing in between. Therefore, such a mindset of educators creates a frame and immures their students in it. Thinking outside the box in such an environment is considered to be the wrong answer. In order to fit in and have good grades, students should espouse the beliefs of their teachers or test-makers, even though they may highly disagree with them. This situation may impede the development of the student’s own identity and foster his reluctance to think on his own, argue and support his ideas. It may sound a little exaggerating, but in the long run, such a system of education, which shores the imagination and creativity of students, may create a reluctant and easy-to-manipulate society that lost the skill of the critical thinking.

Secondly, formal education in Russia, and in other countries as well, only offers a rigid set of subjects for a certain career. As a result, students must follow the prechosen track by a person in power. There is no opportunity to be free in your choices, nor to discover areas outside of your main field of interest. This leaves the students with the only option to develop parochially.

Admittedly, not all schools and universities, as well as not all teachers and professors, are the same. Some of them may, in fact, encourage their students to free the mind and spirit by allowing them to express what they really think without imposing any boundaries or putting labels on them. Through being open and feeling the freedom of the speech students will be more involved in the discussion processes, therefore, it will help them to exchange their ideas to form valuable conclusions, which otherwise would not be reached because of the restrictions of somebody in power, be it a professor or a minister trying to push a new law.

In conclusion, I can predict that everybody will have different views on this topic and this is absolutely understandable as each person has had different experiences during the school years that shaped this opinion. My opinion was shaped in the way which aligns more with the claim that formal education tends to restrict our minds by not allowing us to think outside the imposed box.