61. The following appeared in an article in the Grandview Beacon.For many years the city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent and attendance

The authors of the article recommend eliminating the city’s contributions to the symphony from next year’s budget. This recommendation relies on certain points: the growth of attendance at the symphony’s event, private contribution increase and announced an increase in ticket prices. The authors believe that such developments will lead to the symphony’s autonomy. However, unless certain questions are answered, this recommendation cannot be evaluated and, therefore, considered valid.

First of all, what was the reason for the public contribution increase? Perhaps, a law appeared last year that was accountable for such a change. It is entirely possible that the government obliged businesses to invest a certain percentage of their profits to the public sector. Therefore, only while this law is in power and the economic state of the city is favorable, the city of Grandview may expect stable contributions to the symphony. Another thing that should be considered is that a 200 percent growth of a negligible sum does not change the situation much. Accordingly, the authors must also provide the information of the initial contributions, so that the actual growth can be evaluated correctly.

The second question that must be answered is what is the ratio of private to municipal contributions? This is a very important point that would make the evaluation process much easier. For that matter, perhaps the ratio is 99 percent of public contributions to 1 percent of the private ones. Hence, even the increase of 200 percent in the private sector would not change the current state significantly. Moreover, the authors must also provide changes in public contributions. Did they also grow or were they reduced? Without those numbers. It is impossible to evaluate the recommendation with a high degree of certainty and soundness.

Another question to be asked is what is the pubic reaction to the price increase? Undoubtedly, price increases are never received positively by the public. Therefore, such action from the symphony may lead to the lower attendance of the events and, as a result, fewer profits. In such a situation, it will need public contributions as never before. On the other hand, we also need to know how much the prices were increased. In fact, the new prices may not differ significantly from the old prices and, therefore, this change will not affect the profitability of the symphony. With this being said, the price factor plays an important role in the evaluation process and cannot be dismissed.

In the final analysis, the recommendation is unconvincing as it stands as it lacks crucial information. Unless we have access to the answers to the above-mentioned questions which support the recommendation, it cannot be considered cogent.