The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books."Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all su

Replacement of a children’s books section with a cafe was recommended by the business manager of Monarch Books. To support his argument, he mentions the results of a recent national census that indicate a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. The intention of Book and Been - a book store with a cafe -to open in the same city was also a base for this recommendation. However, scrutiny of each of these facts reveals that none of them lend credible support to the recommendation.

First of all, the argument rests on the assumption that the results of the recent national census were well-representative. In other words, it was based on the unstated assumptions that the demographics of the Collegeville followed the same patterns and trends as the nation-wide average. Nonetheless, the average does not always show the true picture. Consider a telling example, one man earns 1 dollar a month and another man makes 100 dollars a month, the average monthly income will be 55.5 dollars. Does it correctly represent the salaries of both men? Not at all. The same thing might occur in this situation. It is entirely possible that the percentage of the population under age ten in Collegeville was an aberration and actually growing. If it turns out to be the case, the manager’s recommendation will be significantly undermined.

Secondly, the author falsely assumes that the concept of Book and Bean book store will be popular with the citizens of Collegeville and that the in-store cafe will be a significant factor for current Monarch Books customers to change their preferences. Since we are not given any market and customer research nor any sales or customer number statistics of both stores, we cannot draw a sound conclusion. Perhaps, the opening of an in-store cafe will damage Monarch Books’ sales and popularity with people as it will no longer be unique. What is more, the cafe in the bookstore usually makes this place busier and noisier - not all current customers of Monarch Books might like such a change in the store’s environment and atmosphere.

Thirdly, even if the newly-opened cafe becomes successful, the increased in sales was predicted quite hastily. Consider the budget required for building and furnishing the cafe, the salaries of baristas, cooks and other supporting personnel, the money required for buying the products and delivery, and so on. Unless the investment analysis is conducted where all the potential costs and benefits are estimated, no conclusions should be made on its possible profitability. Claiming that a new cafe will bring more profits, in fact, is just guessing since there are no hard numbers provided. If the cost of the opening was underestimated, while the expected profits were overestimated, then the recommendation of the business manager will be considerably undermined.

In the final analysis, the Monarch Books business manager’s recommendation is unconvincing as it stands. His reasoning is significantly flawed as it lacks crucial information. To bolster this recommendation, the author must provide the financial statistics of both stores and well as research or study dedicated to the preferences of book buyers that would prove that the opening of an in-store cafe is the only way to ward off competition and increase sales. Moreover, he must also consider conducting investment analysis and suggest the implementation of his idea only if the results of the analysis will indicate the prevailing advantages of it.