Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol and today low fat products abound in many food stores Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy

In the newsletter, the Old Dairy stockholders were advised to sell their shares and other investors - not to purchase the stock in that company at all. The authors cite a recent survey in their support. The results of the survey revealed that 80 percent of the respondents wish to reduce their intake of food high in fats and cholesterol. This fact, according to the authors, will impede the company sales and, as a result, profits. However, unless certain questions are answered, this recommendation cannot be evaluated and, therefore, considered cogent.

The first question to be asked is if the sample of the survey was representative. The results of a survey can never be taken for granted unless its background is known. In other words, surveys can only be trusted when we know exactly how many people participated, from what cities or regions, their general profile, etc. For that matter, it can be the case that the participants of this particular survey were people who took more care about their health or who were interested in the food that they consume. Undoubtedly, the opinion of a single group cannot represent well diverse tastes and opinions of all consumers.

Secondly, what is the actual ratio of Old Dairy Industries products high in fat and cholesterol to its other products? In the newsletter, the number of the products from the first group indicated as “many”, but we are not given the exact numbers. In fact, it is entirely possible that the ratio is not high at all. Perhaps, the authors were simply aggrandizing the number to convince others. So, even if the answer to the first question is positive, the recommendation still cannot be considered sound as no numbers are provided.

Finally, how much profit are the products high in fats and cholesterol actually accountable for? Let’s consider that the above-mentioned questions were answered in favor of the recommendation. However, it falsely assumes that those products have a large part in the company's profits. Perhaps, they are much cheaper than other Old Dairy products and, therefore, their contribution to the overall profits is neglectable. At the same time, there could be other products which are more expensive and whose weight in the company’s profit is higher. As a consequence, Old Dairy’s sales would not decrease as dramatically as it is stated in the newsletter.

In the final analysis, the recommendation from the newsletter is unconvincing as it stands as it lacks crucial information. Unless we have access to the answers to the above-mentioned questions which support the recommendation, it cannot be considered cogent.