51. The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have com

In the memorandum, the business manager of Happy Pancake House recommends keeping replacing butter by margarine in other restaurants of the chain. He claims that such a replacement will be very advantageous as it will increase the profitability by cutting the costs. However, unless certain questions are answered, this recommendation cannot be evaluated and, therefore, considered valid.

The first essential that needs to be answered is how long has Happy Pancake Factory been analyzing the customers’ reactions to the butter replacement? As the time period is not mentioned anywhere in the memorandum, it is entirely possible that it is equal to a couple of days or a few weeks. Undoubtedly, it is not enough to be able to make any conclusions based on it. Perhaps, the customers just have not paid attention to it or have not noticed unfavorable consequences of it yet. However, as time goes and news spreads, Happy Pancake House might decrease its number of customers instead of increasing its profitability. Therefore, in order to make the conclusion more valid, the author must prove that the time period of customer reaction research was sensible.

The second question that must be answered is has any research been conducted in order to see if the preferences of the people from other parts of the USA are the same? Without a positive answer, the argument is untenable as it stands. The United States of America is a large and diverse country with different people who, of course, have different likes and dislikes. The fact that for the southwestern citizens butter replacement went unnoticeable does not guarantee that it will be this way throughout the country. Only after careful and detailed study, the business manager can give any recommendations.

The third question to be asked is how much cheaper is margarine? If the difference in price turns out to be neglectable, then the cost-saving effect will be exaggerated. Such a change could, in fact, result in more expense for the company, for example, by searching for a new provisioner, organizing the negotiations and other transactional costs.

Finally, is there any data available on the average number of customers per day which shows that the number stayed the same or rose after switching to margarine? In other to draw conclusions that could be trusted we need statistics of Happy Pancake House daily customers. It could be the case that even though 98 percent of them did not complain, they stopped eating at the restaurant at all after noticing the change. As a consequence, fewer customers would amount for fewer sales and, therefore, fewer profits, unlike the predicted outcomes. In order to bolster his argument, the author must answer positively to the above-mentioned question and provide the supporting numbers.

In the final analysis, the recommendation of the business manager is unconvincing as it stands since there is certain information lacking. In order to bolster his argument, he must answer the above-named questions in such a manner that would support his conclusion. Moreover, those answers can only be considered material if they are based on statistics and research.