The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company s president In an effort to improve our employees productivity we should implement electronic monitoring of employees Internet use from their

The vice president of human resources recommends starting to monitor employees' Internet use from their workstations by installing a particular software. According to him, it will help to foster a better work ethic and improve Climpson Industries’ overall sales since the software will prevent workers from wasting time. However, scrutiny of this recommendation reveals that it is unconvincing as it stands as it relies on a series of faulty assumptions.

First of all, the essential faulty assumption this argument relies on is that the implementation of the electronic monitoring system will increase employees’ productivity. However, the vice president does not include any information proving this statement - no according research or study. For that matter, perhaps such a change in the policy would impede Climpson employees’ productivity. The workers might start feeling that they are not being trusted and simply being controlled which can significantly affect their attitude to work and the company in general. Unless the positive correlation between the monitoring of employees’ Internet use and their productivity is proved, no conclusion should be made.

Secondly, the author of the recommendation assumes that the overall profits of Climpson Industries will grow as the result of monitoring software installation. This is not necessarily the case. Obviously, there are other factors involved as well, which should be tracked and considered - the economic state of the city/country the company operates in, their competitors’ actions, the preferences of the customers, and so on. Therefore, it can be quite naive to believe that by changing one variable (the influence of which, in fact, has not been proved) will positively affect the overall result to a noticeable extent.

Finally, the author believes that a better work ethic is a stricter one. Nevertheless, we see how the majority of leading companies undermine this assumption by revolutionizing the workspace and policies. A telling example here would be Google with its offices resembling the playground and encouraging its employees working on their own projects at the same time so that they foster their creativity, loyalty and the feeling they are valuable to the company. Even much smaller companies implement flexible working hours, allow their employees working from home and so on. In other words, those forward-thinking companies value freedom rather than control and this, indeed, proves to be effective.

In the final analysis, the recommendation of the vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries cannot be considered convincing as it relies on a series of assumptions that render it untenable. To bolster his argument, the author should show that there is high positive correlation coefficient between the increasing control and employees’ productivity, cite studies and researches which prove the above-mentioned correlation and explain how the overall sales of the company depend on those particular employees whose usage of Internet is recommended to be monitored.