Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental

This argument concludes that consistent dairy product consumption increase the risk of osteoporosis unlike it has been generally thought. The conclusion rests on the study that found that people who consumed milk and other dairy product frequently had a higher rate of bone fractures than other participants in the study. Close scrutiny of this argument reveals that it lends little credible for the author’s assertion.

First of all, it is stated that osteoporosis is linked to the environmental factor. In other words, there must be certain conditions that cause the emergence of the disease. Therefore, more information about the study participants’ location is required to evaluate the argument. It could be bolstered if all the participants turned out to be from the same area so that they had an equal possibility of developing osteoporosis. However, unless such evidence is provided, it is entirely possible that people who took part in the study were from different corners of the country, let alone, world. This means, that they were exposed to different environmental conditions that could influence the results of the study.

Secondly, the genetic factor should be considered as well since it can be the cause of the disease. In order to examine the argument fully, the results of genetic tests are required. It could be the case, that some participants had a genetic predisposition for this disease, therefore, they would significantly skew the results of the whole study. Unless all people participating in the research were clear of the genetic predisposition, no conclusion can be drawn from it.

Thirdly, we have to be sure that all people had similar eating habits except for the diary product consumptions as well as none of them were taking additional vitamins in the form of pills or other supplements. For that matter, perhaps some participants were more concerned about their health, so they would add certain supplements to their ration. If this proves to be true, then the findings of the study would be significantly undermined.

In conclusion, there are at least three specific pieces of evidence are needed in order to evaluate the soundness of the made conclusion: we must be sure that (1) all study participants lived in the same or very similar environmental conditions; (2) none of them had a genetic predisposition for the disease; (3) nobody was taking additional vitamins or other supplements.