The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In XYZ company when employee laid off, they prefer to contact Delany personal firm to offer those employees help in drafting resumes and developing intra-communication skills. Also, laid off employees obvious benefited to the Delany firm. Also, argument represent last year scenario where employees get quickly job as compare to who did not use same consultancy service. In XYZ company, higher authorities proposed that this time they will use other supports called Walsh company. However, most people consider it is big mistake because according to other organization Walsh's client service not good. Apart from that, Delany have a greater staff and branch. Hence it would be benefited. Stated in this way argument fails to mention several points based on that it could be evaluated. Hence, the conclusion relies on assumption that have no strong evidence. As a result conclusion is unsubstantiated and unsupported.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that, last year who use Delany services get a job easily as compare to other who not apply for Delany. It is merely an argument without solid background. It might be possible last year employees are more talented; so, they got a job easily. Also, argument readily assume the market situation. It may be possible last year market was good. That's why more people able to found the jobs; but, it would not be case same in this year as well. Also, argument does not mention statistical evidence how much employees get a job. Hence, author arguments has a no clear proof.

Secondly, the argument claims that, last year other company had a bad experience regarding Walsh's services. Because, employees took 9 months to find a job as compare to 6 months in Delany company. This again weak and unsupported claim. View of only one company not able to question the efficiency of the Walsh's services. It might be possible in other firms, Walsh's company provided good jobs. Also, getting job is depend on the individual caliber rather than services of the different firms.

Thirdly, argument compare the staff and branch of the both companies and give the preference to the Delany over Walsh because of great staff and branch. However, there is no clear correlation between staff and providing jobs to the individual. Therefore, we cannot say that Delany is superior. Also, argument give more emphasize on quantity rather than quality. It might be possible Delany has a more clients that's why they have a more branch. But, Walsh provide the service in only one city.

To conclude, the author's conclusion is unpersuasive it stands. To bolster it, author must provide more concrete evidences and relevant facts. It could be considerably strengthened if author mention all relevant facts. As a result the author's conclusion has a no legs to stand.