"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indica

According to the passage, the customers of the Happy Pancake House restaurants do not distinguish butter form margarine. Furthermore, the customers use the term 'butter' to invoke either butter or margarine. Because of the ignorance of the difference between butter and margarine, there have been only little impact on the customers after the change from butter to margarine at the restaurants. To support this explanation, the memo points out the two reasons : There have been only 2 percent of customers' complaint and many servers have reported that a lot of customers who want butter do not complain when they are served margarine instead. However, the reasons do not guarantee the explanation.

First, the percentage of the complaint does not mean that exact proportion of dissatisfaction. Because it is still possible that even though the customers were not happy with the service, they just do not explicitly express their unhappiness. In other hand, there can be many customers who are not satisfied with the changed service. And even some of the customers may decide not to complain because they would not visit the restaurants again due to the change of material. If so, the low percentage of the complaint can indicate the lost of the potential customers. Therefore, the survey does not seem representative.

Second, the servers' reports can not be reliable reason. Because the servers can not exactly know whether the customers really are able to distinguish butter from margarine. Even though the customer does not react when they are given the alternative of the butter, the lack of reaction does not mean the ignorance of the difference between butter and margarine. Because we can thinks of many of other possibility. For example, they may do not react because they want to avoid any trouble.

As we have seen above, the reasons to support the explanation of the memo are not implausible. To strengthen the reliability of the reason, the author should present more evidences. That is, the writer need to show the ways to persuade the survey is representative of the dissatisfaction of customer and need to show the way to increase the reliability of the reports of servers.