Essay topic: In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department

According to the passage, the government should aggrandize the budget in this year's budget for riverside recreational facility because the use of the river for water sport is expected to increase. To support this claims, the argument suggests the result of the survey, which mentions that the favorite recreational activities is water sports, and the recent projected plan to clean up Manson River. However, the claims are based on the assumptions which may not be true. Therefore, the argument is not granted.

First, the writer assumes that the survey and the result of the survey are reliable. But it is not assured that the survey is representative for the opinions of the resident people. Because the writer does not suggest any standards used to select the people surveyed. Moreover, even though the people who are surveyed represent the opinions of the residents, it is not clear that the answers is well organized. Due to the fact that the exact questions are not known, it is dubious whether the answers are manipulated cleverly with the questions that favoring to the certain results. And Although the answers of the survey are reliable, the results do not direct mean that the residents wish to enjoy the water sports on the river. Because it is possible that they prefer to playing inside of the center rather than outside water sports.

Second, the writer assumes that cleaning up the river will be beneficial for the increase of the water sports on the river. However, the plans to clean up the river do not guarantee the increase of the demand of the water sports on the river. Because the reason why the plans were made was to respond to the complaints of the smell from the river rather than demanding places to play water sports. Even though the river will be clean enough, people may not want to enjoy water sport there with several reasons. For example, people may feel uncomfortable to wear water sports clothes near their places because they can encounter many neighbors so that they will not wish to go to the river. Or because of the past dirty image, people may hesitate to go swimming to the river.

All in all, even though the author hastily assumes several things to support the main points, due to the lack of the reliability of the assumptions, the arguments becomes less plausible. To strengthen the idea, the writer need to suggest further explanation to assure the assumptions. For example, the reasons to increase the reliability of the survey are needed. And the reasons to think the cleaning up the river leads to the increase of the demand of the water sports on the river are required.