The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and s

Sometimes, the authority secure the sustainability of the society. But at the same time, unless the authority is well monitored and scrutinized, it can be harmful to the society and the members who living in there. So that the ways of questioning to the authority is the important issue.

In case that the question against authority is presented in reasonable ways, it is efficacious for both of individuals and society. Because it leads to the progress by overcoming the existing norm which is not proper for the contemporary period anymore. For example, in Joseon dynasty, the difference roles and statuses between women and men were accepted widely. However, after modernizing period, many people questioned to the culture, and finally materialize the equality between gender. And these equality allowed many women to participate in several activities, and eventually it has played salient role to enhance the happiness of individual women.

Moreover, the questioning to the authority is also beneficial for the society as a whole. Because the conforming to the authority without any question causes the lack of creativity which is crux of the development of the society. For instance, the size of industry of the steel in Korea which once achieved its huge success, now decreases, in virtue of the lack of creativity. And many economy experts analyze that the lack of creativity is happened because the new members of the industry habitually rely on authority of the existing members who achieved success before. However, it turned out that the lack of autonomy was deleterious to the industry. As we can see from the example, the creativity is important and it is gained by the ability of the questioning to authority.

However, if the question is made in the arbitrary ways, it causes several problems. First of all, the reckless questioning to the authority is resulted into the serious inefficiency. Because unconditioned objects from the various perspectives generate conflicts between opinions. For example, in Korea, the many people are divided into the party in politics and conflicting each other. In course of the fighting, many people unreasonably try to debunk the any attempts made by opposite side. And this conflicts makes huge inefficiency in politic, and hinder the actualizing any policy.

All in all, because the capacity to questioning to the authority has the positive repercussion, it should be encouraged. But as I mentioned, if the questioning is made in unreasonable ways, it causes a lot of conflicts. Therefore the question to authority should be made in reasonable ways.