Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

In democratic society, there are many situation when the will of the people and the will of the government conflicts against each other. To make better society, it is salient to adjust the disagreement between two forces.

In cases that the policy is related with the field of the culture, the government should follow the opinion of the general people. Because the goal of this kind of the policy is to enhance the pleasure and happiness of the people. For example, when the governors consider the place of the national festival, the decision should reflect the will of the people. If the government makes decision regardless of the preference of the people, the festival would be less enjoyable for the participants. In addition, when the government thinks of the policy to cultivate their own culture for tourism, the policy should be based on the trend on the people. Becuause the subject of the developing the culture is always the member of the society, although the government can conduct ancillary actions.

However, when we consider the other fields in regard with the policies that have more fundamental influence on the society as whole, the government should carry out their decision based on the expection of results. Because the governor usually have more information themselfe and they can access easily to the analysis of experts as well. For example, when the governor deals with the issue about the safety of the people, such as military force, it is more reasonable to make decision according to the analysis of the situation rather than the arbitrary opinion of the public. Unless they make decision with acumen, the result of the failure in this kind of field would be seriously harmful for whole society. For instance, it is not plausible for Sout Korean government to decide their policy against North Korea depending on the opinions of the people who have less reliable information.

Moreover, in event that the government make policies about the large scale economy, they should carry their own decision made with the economists. Because the field is highly complicate to be well understood by the normal people. So that government should consider many factors about the economy to make long term plan to manage the finance of the nation. For example, few decades ago, when Korea government tried to sign the Free Trade Agreement with US, there were significant conflicts between people. However except the governors and experts who cooperated with them, only few people have enough information to make proper decision. Therefore, the government had to make their own decision based on the expectation made with the experts to make positive outcome for the whole society.

In surmmary, the goverment should follow the will of the people when the policy is about the entertainment and culture. However, because they have more information, when the policy is related with the decision which would effect on the safety and the large scale economy, they should make their own decision grounded on the expectation of the results.