Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

In virtue of its huge contribution in establishing abundance of modern society, many people think that any regulation should not be imposed on scientific research. However, without restriction on science research, many problems in various fields are expected.

Of course, the science is efficacious in various ways. The science is the strongest intellectual buttresses for flourish of modern era. It has facilitated advances for the society and individuals. For example, by inventing and developing many transportation technologies, science enhanced the range of activities. It fostered the growth of economy. Furthermore, owing to the development of information technologies, people now enjoy the wider relationship all around world.

However, even though the scientific researches enable such developments in various field which are beneficial for both the society and individuals, unless they are well managed, it may generate deleterious side effects. First, the result of scientific research can cause serious environmental problem. For example, in Russia and Japan, the explosion accident of radiation plant occurred, and the radiation polluted the environment irreversibly. Due to its difficulty to recover once damaged environment, precaution measures for scientific research is needed.

Second, the scientific research can generate several ethical problems. For instance, in pursuing blindly purpose of the research, some scientists may sacrifice many innocent lives of creatures far more than they needed. Furthermore, unless the researches are monitored and scrutinized well, even the inalienable human right can be violated. If we recall the historical cases of Germany and Japan during World War Two, it becomes obvious that the concern is excessive. They committed a lot of cruel crimes for scientific research. By restriction, we need to prevent these tragedy.

All in all, even though the science plays the salient role in progress of development of human being, the scientific research without being monitored and managed carefully can militate negative repercussions, the regulations on the science are necessary.