In order to improve the quality of instruction at the college and university level, all faculty should be required to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The attempts to increase the quality of the education in university is both important for the ability of the professors and the students' growth. Some people believe that the policy to require all faculty to spend time working outside university would be good method for the increase the quality of the education.

In the cases of the fields that the newly updated information is important, the recommendation for scholars to spend their time for working outside the academic world is desirable. Because the experiences are efficacious both for their performance in studying and the teaching for students. For example, the business major is the field where it has strong demand to react the rapidly changing situation. Because the knowledge accepted decade ago becomes easily outdated in the field. The basic contents of game theory which is widely used in the field have rarefied significantly, therefore the outdated versions of the theory rather obscure the reality of the business world. Therefore, to keep following up the transformation of the business world, the professors in the university should spend their time outside university. And the updated and newly acquired information will be reliable and beneficial sources to teach.

However, the other fields that mainly focus on the fundamental phenomenon or the basic principles, the requirement for professors to work outside the academic world seems to not be necessary. Because the such studies are related to the past rather then the present changes. For example, the philosophy is the study which generally concentrates on the profound questions including metaphysics, ethics and epistemology. The philosophers proceed their studies by reviewing the precedent philosopher. In virtue of the fact that the questions and answers are not changed in course of time, for them, the accumulation of the knowledge is more important than participating the real world. Therefore they do not need to spend time outside the academic world to develop their idea. Rather, the requirement deprives the time needed to invest their studying from the scholars. As the example indicates, the professor whose studies are mainly connected to the hardly changeable questions, the requirement to leave the university for a while do not necessary.

Moreover, because the spending outside university does not advantageous for their savvy and acumen, the requirement may deleterious to the students as well. Because as much as the professors spend outside university, the time and effort which would have been used would be wasted.

To summarize, if the major field of the professors are relevant to the recent phenomenon which is changing quickly, then the requirement for the spending time outside the academic world is advantageous for all. However, it is not required for all the professors. Because there are some fields irrelevant with the present.