A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Some people argue that students should learn the same national curriculum until they enter college. In order to support his claim, the apologists of the idea points to the advantages of the same national curriculum. The standardized program can efficiently supply students with the shared values in the society. Given that one of the purpose of education is to cultivate democratic citizen, it is important to hand down the democratic value through the same curriculum designed by democratic government. In my opinion, the claims have some reasonable points, still lack consideration of many other valuable aspects of purpose of education. In particular, the proponents of the claims fail to consider the possibility that true democratic value can be shared with students more effectively with the autonomy of education. Furthermore, the standardized curriculum may be even deleterious to spirit of democracy.

Democracy is not a political system which is given naturally to human being. Rather,the system is a result of many predecessors' efforts. Because of the fact that the democracy is invented by human hands, it denotes that the members of the democracy should be kept alert to maintain and preserve the system handed down from earlier generation. And the best way of the preserving the system is to educate democratic value to younger generation with the great care. Therefore, it is reasonable to argue that all the school for young students should teach them democratic values.

However, this idea does not imply the claims that all the school must to decide to teach same curriculum designed by central government. It is true that the same and standardized curriculum will be efficient and economical in some aspects. However, when we consider boarder aspects, it seems obvious that the same curriculum would not be efficient as much as it is expected to be. For example, these fixed form of education is less likely reflect the distinctions of individual students. In fact, the essence of the democracy is to respect the difference of the individuals. However, once the programs in schools are fixed by government, the probability for educator to interact with individual students with autonomy decreases. Moreover, these standardized curriculum which may be invented regardless of autonomy can be harmful to the spirit of the democracy. Because the freedom of individuals and harmony with diversity is one of the most important virtue of the democracy, but the fixed education is too inflexible to cultivate these virtues. Furthermore, if the government have all the right to form and run the national curriculum, there will be potential danger of manipulation committed by government. That is, the national curriculum can drive majority of the people into same direction in thinking. It must be serious sign for existence of democracy.

In conclusion, as we have seen above, the education is important to maintain and preserve the value of democracy. However, it does not mean the the education curriculum should be standardized and fixed. Rather, the inflexible curriculum would be less efficient in many aspect, and there are even serious potential danger that the same curriculum can damage the spirit of democracy.

In conclusion, as we have seen above, the education is important to maintain and preserve the value of democracy. however, it does not mean the the education curriculum should be standardized and fixed. Rather, the inflexible curriculum would be less efficient in many aspect, and there are even serious potential danger that the same curriculum can damage the spirit of democracy. gue that