Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and s

Because the education is a salient thing to cultivate future generation, the issue of the form of the education is important. Especially, the issue about formal education is controversial.

In the case that the formal education is not monitored and scrutinized properly, formal education has potential danger to hold back student's minds and spirits. Because the nationally uniformed curriculum can be used for control the people's mind. In virtue of the fact that the education, especially served to the young students, has strong power of influence on the way of thinking and behavior, it can manipulate student minds and spirits in the clever and indirect ways. That it, the education can be used as a tool to bridle the unconsciousness of the students. For example, the North Korea invest huge amount of budget to design to make national curriculum to manipulate students' minds and spirits as the dictator wishes. Unless the education system is not well established in the democratic way, it will be deleterious to the freedom of the people.

However, when the formal education is well organized and managed, it has several advantages. It has positive repercussion on individuals and the progress of society. For individuals, owing to the fact that the formal education grants the equality of education, it contributes to enhance the happiness of the individuals. For example, because the national education can serve the standardized curriculum, many people who are in comparatively destitute condition can be guaranteed the opportunities of education. And this basic opportunities work as the equal ground to achieve their success in the future.

Moreover, the formal education also can be efficacious for society as whole. Because by serving formal education, the government can hand down the virtues and values which are prevailed in the existing generation. Formal education plays important role to combine the generations by sharing the virtues and values, and it is crux to make and retain the sustainable and harmonious society. For instance, through teaching the history and national language to all members of the nation, it can increase the sense of community and cooperation.

All in all, it is true that the education can be misused to manipulate the people's minds and spirits. When it falls a status of a passive tool to serve the preference of the dictator, it will be harmful for the liberty of the people. However, if it is well scrutinized in democratic way, formal education have several positive effect on both individuals and society. Therefore, we need to attempt to control the formal education well rather than abjuring it.