The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for t

The development of technology save the time for workers. With this time, people can enjoy their leisure. But, at the same time, people can decide to spend their own time with other activities or just rest. Moreover, the efficiency in other fields can commit to other goals. Therefore, the claim that the goal of technology should be to make more time for leisure time seems to be implausible.

In the case the field of technologies are related with individual tasks, the attempts to promote the efficiency of individual prowess at working process is beneficial in virtue of that it would secure more time for workers. If people will have more free time, they would have more opportunities to enjoy leisure. With the leisure, people will be able to experience diverse thing and to meet people from board range of fields, concentrating only on their enjoyment with heavy burden of labor. That is, the more leisure time contributes to enhance individuals' welfare. For example, with the development of technologies related with housework, such as laundry machine, many house workers have been emancipated from time-consuming and arduous tasks. And this emancipation has increased many individual women' welfare by allowing more their own time to enjoy leisure.

However, there are no reason to assume that people will spend their free time exclusively for leisure, even though the technologies related individual working increase the efficiency so that many people can secure more time. We can think of many other cases of people would spend their time with other options. For instances, many people may decide to unwind at home. Moreover, there must be some people who want to use their time with working or studying, and yet the technologies allow time for them to take rest.

Moreover, when we consider the technologies usually applied to the social field or environmental field, the goal of advancement of technology should be something other than simply more leisure. Although the technologies used in the social or environmental filed also increase efficiency in various ways, the efficiency contribute to generate other values. For example, the development of technologies for military force would make the army more efficient organization. However, the efficiency is meaningful not because it secure more time for soldiers to enjoy leisure, but because it secure the safety of the people.

All in all, even though it is true that the advancement of the technology contributes to making more time for leisure to enhancing efficiency, we don't need to conclude that leisure should be the primary goal for the advancement of technology. Because, the free time secured by efficiency can be used differently saving leisure, and the efficiency in various field contribute to diverse purposes.