'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

As a conclusion, the writer maintains that the late-night news should increase their coverage of weather and local news while decrease the time for national news. To support this recommendation, the memo points out the complaints given from audience over the past years, and the cancellation of the advertising contracts of local businesses. However, Because the claims are based on the unreliable assumptions, the entire memo seems to be not persuadable.

First, the manager assumes that the one year would be enough time to determine the overall trend of audience' reaction. However, one year is quite short time to monitor the preference of the audience exactly. In fact, it is possible the result would be changed from the next years.

Moreover, the author thinks that the complaints about the coverage of news are representative for the whole opinions of the audiences. However, there are no reasons to believe that the complaints are directly connected to the general opinions of the people. It can be just repeating complaints from the small number of the people.

In addition to this, the authors mentions that the complaints are concerned with coverage of weather and local news. It is implausible to argue to expand the coverage of the parts based on the facts that many complaints are related with the coverage. The increase of the coverage of the part may lead to the further complaints of the audience.

Next, the manager assumes that the cancellation of advertisement is caused by the change of the coverage. But there are possibility that the cancellation due to other factors. For example, the general economy condition of the nation may not be propitious to the many business company, so that they may reduce the revenue related with advertisement. Because the memo does not contain any information about the other factors, it is too hasty to conclude the cancellation is resulted from the change of the coverage.

Moreover, even though the coverage is transformed as the manager mentions, it is not guaranteed that the new will attract more viewers and stop the losing advertisement. For example, it is still possible that the number of the viewers and advertisement would be stable or even fall down despite of the transformation.

Furthermore, the manager assumes that the plan for the late-night news will be equally efficacious to all other news as well. However, the passage does not present any descriptions of the other news, so that it is impossible to determine whether the plan would be beneficial for other news program, even though we admit the possibility that the strategy will work well. More seriously, it is even not clear that the plan will effective for the late-night news.

In conclusion, because the author suggest his claims on the dubious assumptions, honestly the idea would not be acceptable. To strengthen the argument, the writer should present more evidences that will bolster the one's assumptions are reliable.