The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the memorandum,the business manager of happy Pancake House restaurant concludes that the replacement of the butter by margaring has little impact on their customers.to support that ,he/she cites that only 2 percent of customers have complained and many servers have reported that a number of customers do not complain with the margarine instead when they ack for the butter.Although the conclusion of the author might be correct ,there are several alternative plausible explanation which could account for the facts in the argument.

to begin with , only 2 percent bad feedback can be explained by the invalidity of the data.it is possible that the data may be not collected by the scientific methods.many of the feedback is missed by the researchers.without the total number of the people who involved in this collection,it is possible that the number is not enough to suggest that 98 percent customers are happy with the change.the customers who provided the feedback should be representative.if it turns out that those customers are all students or children who can not distinguish butter from margarine,then the data of 2 percent is not convincing.and the explaination of the manager about this phenomena is incorrect.

in addition,the author explains the 2 percent complaint by the reasons that 98 percent customers are happy with this replacement.although this explanation is reasonable,other pausible explanation cannot be ignored .it is possible that only a part of the customers gave the feedback to the restaurant.many of the customers who do not satisfy with the replacement may do not complain about it.what of equal possiblity is that the restaurants do not recieve successfully the complaint from the customers.that is to say, customers complain about the change in oral

and the servers or managers do not observe the complaint from the customers.if this is the case,then the auhtor's argument will be strongly impaired.

finally,managers states that customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter ' to refer to either butter or margarine.

absence of the information contributes to the failure to rule out the possibility that customers who ask for butter are not willing to complain and destroy the mood of having dinners due to this replacement.it is also possible that servers do not offer the true feedback of the customers bacause their working quantity will increase if they have to tell the margarine and butter when customers ask for one of them.without the detailed information, we cannot rule out these plausible explanation.

to sum up, people cannot decide which explanation is the best until further investigation is performed.it is unfair to keep blind to other explanations.