"Two studies of amphibians in Xanadu National Park confirm a significant decline in the numbers of amphibians. In 1975 there were seven species of amphibians in the park, and there were abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. One proposed explanation is that the decline was caused by the introduction of trout into the park's waters, which began in 1975. (Trout are known to eat amphibian eggs.)"

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the letter, the editor of an environmental magazine attribute the decline of amphibians in Xanadu national park to the introduction of trout into the park’s waters.to support that ,he/she points out the result of two studies which show the decline of both species and population of amphibians in the park.while i concede that the introduction of trout might be the reason,i maintain that other plausible explanation can also account for the facts presented in the argument.with only current information, we can not decide which explanation is the best.however,we cannot ignore other possible explanations.

To begin with,before considering the cause of the decline of amphibians ,we must consider whether the decline of amphibians in the park truly exist or not.absence of the detailed information of two studies contributes to the failure to rule out the possibility that the result of two studies is not accurate.it is possible that the researchers may only surveyed a specific area in the park where the population of amphibian is particular low in 2002 . what of equal possibility is that the studies may do not strictly in accordance with scientific procedures,like sample collection.survey data processing.any mistake in the procedures will lead to the wrong result.it is also possible that the amphibians change their living habit due to the change of the environment.for example,they used to come out during the day,and now they usually come out during the night.so the researchers cannot observe them by the traditional method.all the aforementioned explanation will pose a great challenge to the reliability of the result of studies.

In addition,even if we acknowledge the reliability of the result of survey,do the decline necessarily mean that the amphibian are endangered in the national park.it will be unfair if we keep blind to the possible scenario that some special situations lead to the phenomena about the decline of amphibian.during the 27 years, the environmental surrounding of the national park have been changed a lot.the climate change due to the greenhouse effect also has a great impact on the amphibian.all these possible factors may result in that the amphibians no longer fit in the survival environment of the park ,and therefore they move from this place to another as the habitat.if this is the case ,the introduction of trout will be less responsible.

Finally,granted that the decline of the amphibian is due to the death of the amphibian,there are a series of possible explanations expect the introduction of trout which could account for the decline. For the human cause,human beings have brought great pollution to the nature after the industry revolution.the quality of the water in the park might be polluted by the chemical substance or litter.the serious air pollution caused by industrial exhaust may occur near the national park.the toxic element from the polluted surrounding will enter in the food chain of the amphibian and cause a lot of death of amphibian.While we can not assert these factors are present ,we are confident that these explanations could rival the one proposed in the argument.

To summarize ,although it is reasonable to believe that the decline of amphibian in the park is ascribed to the introduction of trout,there are several alternative explanations that could challenge the editor’s one and plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.it is unreasonable to draw a hasty conclusion about which explanation is the most suitable until the further examination is performed.